February 22, 2024

Gates Street Heat

The Hottest and Most Up To Date Entertainment News Source

Yard Act announce new album & 2024 tour, share “Dream Job” video

4 min read

Yard Act have announced their second full-length album, titled Where’s My Utopia, and out March 1 on Republic Records. The band co-produced the album with Gorillaz member Remi Kabaka Jr. who also worked on their “The Trench Coat Museum” single from earlier this year, which is not on the new album. Comedians Nish Kumar (The […]

The post Yard Act announce new album & 2024 tour, share “Dream Job” video appeared first on BrooklynVegan.

Yard Act announce new album & 2024 tour, share “Dream Job” video

Yard Act have announced their second full-length album, titled Where’s My Utopia, and out March 1 on Republic Records. The band co-produced the album with Gorillaz member Remi Kabaka Jr. who also worked on their “The Trench Coat Museum” single from earlier this year, which is not on the new album. Comedians Nish Kumar (The Mash Report) and Rose Matafeo (Starstruck) make cameos.

“The main reason that ‘post-punk’ was the vehicle for Album One was because it was really affordable to do and affordable to tour on a minimal set up, even down to me not playing guitar to save space in the car, which is when the words really came to the fore,” says frontman James Smith. “But we always liked so much other music. I think The Overload hints at that, but this time we’ve had the confidence to embrace it.”

The first single from Where’s My Utopia is “Dream Job,” which continues in the bigger, funkier vibe of “Trench Coat.” As the press release rightly puts it, it’s somewhere between Wham’s “Club Tropicana” and Ian Dury & The Blockheads. Smith says the song makes for a good — yet not all-encompassing — introduction to the album. “In part, I was scrutinizing and mocking myself for being a moaning ungrateful little brat, whilst also trying to address how the music industry is this rather uncontrollable beast that hurtles forward unthinkingly and every single person involved in it plays their part. Myself included, obviously,” he says. “As with pretty much everything else going through my head last year, trying to find the right time to articulate the complexity of emotions I was feeling and the severity to which I was feeling them couldn’t be found – or accommodated, so instead I tried to capture it in a pop song that lasts less than three minutes once the fog had cleared a bit. It’s good and bad. I’m still glad that everything that happened to me happened.”

The “Dream Job” video was directed by Nigel Slater; this is their seventh collaboration, and it’s another witty, cinematic and choreographed delight. In fact it’s pretty much a continuation of the “The Trench Coat Museum” video. Watch that below.

Yard Act will appear at Iceland Airwaves before heading our way for their East Coast tour that begins in NYC at Warsaw on November 4 with YHWH Nailgun. They’ve also announced a West Coast tour happening in late spring of 2024. All dates are listed below.

Where’s My Utopia
1. An Illusion
2. We Make Hits
3. Down By The Stream
4. The Undertow
5. Dream Job
6. Fizzy Fish
7. Petroleum
8. When The Laughter Stops (ft. Katy J Pearson)
9. Grifter’s Grief
10. Blackpool Illuminations
11. A Vineyard for the North

Yard Act – 2023/2024 Tour Dates
Thu. Nov. 2 – Reykjavik, IS @ Iceland Airwaves
Sat. Nov. 4 – Brooklyn, NY @ Warsaw
Sun. Nov. 5 – Philadelphia, PA @ Underground Arts
Mon. Nov. 6 – Baltimore, MD @ Ottobar
Tue. Nov. 7 – Durham, NC @ Motorco Music Hall
Thu. Nov. 9 – Nashville, TN @ The Basement East
Fri. Nov. 10 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl
Sat. Nov. 11 – New Orleans, LA @ Toulouse Theatre
Tue. Nov. 14 – Austin, TX @ Mohawk
Wed. Nov. 15 – Dallas, TX @ Deep Ellum Art Company
Fri. Nov. 17 – Mexico City, MX @ Corona Capital Festival
Sat. Dec. 2 – Bangkok, TH @ Maho Rasop Festival
Sun. Dec. 3 – Hong Kong, HK @ Clockenflap Festival
Tue. Dec. 5 – Osaka, JP @ Shangri-la
Thu. Dec. 7 – Tokyo, JP @ Club Quattro
Wed. Mar. 13 – Norwich, UK @ The Nick Rayns LCR (UEA)
Thu. Mar. 14 – Nottingham, UK @ Rock City
Fri. Mar. 15 – Glasgow, UK @ O2 Academy
Sat. Mar. 16 – Manchester, UK @ O2 Apollo
Sun. Mar. 17 – Newcastle, UK @ Northumbria University
Tue. Mar. 19 – Belfast, UK @ Mandela Hall
Wed. Mar. 20 – Dublin, IE @ Vicar Street
Fri. Mar. 22 – Liverpool, UK @ Invisible Wind Factory
Sat. Mar. 23 – Bristol, UK @ O2 Academy
Mon. Mar. 25 – Brighton, UK @ The Dome
Wed. Mar. 27 – London, UK @ Eventim Apollo
Thu. Apr. 4 – Nantes, FR @ Stereolux
Fri. Apr. 5 – Paris, FR @ Cabaret Sauvage
Sat. Apr. 6 – Bordeaux, FR @ Rock School Barbey
Mon. Apr. 8 – Lisbon, PT @ LAV
Tue. Apr. 9 – Madrid, ES @ Mon
Thu. Apr. 11 – Barcelona, ES @ La 2
Fri. Apr. 12 – Lyon, FR @ Le Transbordeur
Sat. Apr. 13 – Bologna, IT @ Locomotiv Club
Sun. Apr. 14 – Milan, IT @ Santeria Toscana 31
Tue. Apr. 16 – Zurich, CH @ Mascotte
Wed. Apr. 17 – Munich, DE @ Muffathalle
Thu. Apr. 18 – Berlin, DE @ Festsaal Kreuzberg
Sat. Apr. 20 – Stockholm, SE @ Slaktkyrkan
Wed. Apr. 24 – Hamburg, DE @ Uebel & Gefährlich
Thu. Apr. 25 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso Main Hall
Fri. Apr. 26 – Nijmegen, NL @ Doornroosje
Sat. Apr. 27 – Cologne, DE @ Kantine
Sun. Apr. 28 – Brussels, BE @ Les Nuits Botanique
Thu. May 30 – Solana Beach, CA @ Belly Up Tavern
Fri. May 31 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Regent Theater
Sat. Jun. 1 – Pioneertown, CA @ Pappy and Harriet’s
Mon. Jun. 3 – Santa Cruz, CA @ The Catalyst Atrium
Tue. Jun. 4 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent
Thu. Jun. 6 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios
Fri. Jun. 7 – Vancouver, BC @ Rickshaw Theatre
Sat. Jun. 8 – Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile
Sat. Aug. 3 – Leeds, UK @ Millenium Square

The post Yard Act announce new album & 2024 tour, share “Dream Job” video appeared first on BrooklynVegan.

Leave a Reply

Protected by CleanTalk Anti-Spam