Video Playlist | June (#108)


Here are a handful of our favourite videos that we’ve recently been enjoying at Songlines HQ – everything from eccentric Inuk singer Tanya Tagaq to the 74-year-old doyenne of Colombian music, Totó La Momposina.

Pick up a copy of the current issue.

Tanya Tagaq – ‘Uja’
Taken from the Polaris Prize-winning Animism, the video for ‘Uja’ is a skittish, unsettling visual experience. Read more about Tanya in the June (#108) issue.


Songlines Music Awards Winners 2015
Tony Allen, Kronos Quartet, Toumani & Sidiki Diabaté and Ibibio Sound Machine all triumphed in this year’s awards.


Fatoumata Diawara & Amine Bouhafa – ‘Timbuktu Fasso’
Cause no matter what, Timbuktu will remain.’ This defiant song features on the soundtrack to Abderrahmane Sissako’s Oscar-nominated Timbuktu. We spoke to the Mauritanian filmmaker about the place of music in the film in the June (#108) edition.


Totó La Momposina y sus Tambores – ‘El Pescador’
Earlier this month Real World Records released this extraordinary original recording footage of the doyenne of Colombian music. Tambolero is due to be re-released on June 29.


Seckou Keita – ‘Mikhi Nathan Mu Toma (The Invisible Man)’
The Senegalese-born but UK-based kora player returns with a new solo album following the Songlines Music Awards 2014 winning collaboration with Welsh harpist Catrin Finch. 22 Strings will be released on May 26.


Boubacar Traoré & Ali Farka Touré – ‘Duna Ma Yelema’
A classic recording of these two great luminaries of Malian blues. In the June (#108) issue we reflect on the humble yet impressive career of Boubacar Traoré.


Ludovico Einaudi – Taranta Project
The Italian composer teams up with an impressive line-up of musicians – including Juldeh Camara and Justin Adams – for an album inspired by the southern Italian tradition of tarantella with wider influences. Read the review in our next issue (July 2015 #109, on sale June 12).


Bassekou Kouyaté – ‘Siran Fen’
For his fourth album, the ngoni master takes the integration of African rhythms and Western rock’n’roll a step further with guest collaborators, including Dave Smith (Robert Plant’s Sensational Space Shifters), lead guitarist Chris Brokaw and producer Chris Eckman.